Loading your recommendations…

Art Exhibit — "Southbound: Photographs of and about the New South"

Southbound comprises fifty-six photographers’ visions of the South over the first decades of the twenty-first century. Accordingly, it offers a composite image of the region. The photographs echo stories told about the South as a bastion of tradition, as a region remade through Americanization and globalization, and as a land full of surprising realities. The project’s purpose is to investigate senses of place in the South that congeal, however fleetingly, in the spaces between the photographers’ looking, their images, and our own preexisting ideas about the region. Recognizing the complexity of understanding any place, let alone one as charged as the American South, the curators’ approach is transdisciplinary. The photographs will be complemented by a commissioned video, an interactive digital mapping environment, an extensive stand-alone website, and a comprehensive exhibition catalogue.

Thursday: 12pm-6pm Friday: 2pm-8pm Saturday: 12pm-6pm Sunday: 1pm-5pm

Upcoming Dates For This Event:

  • Saturday, October 19
  • Sunday, October 20
  • Thursday, October 24
  • Friday, October 25
  • Saturday, October 26
  • Sunday, October 27
  • Thursday, October 31
  • Friday, November 1
  • Saturday, November 2
  • Sunday, November 3
  • Thursday, November 7
  • Friday, November 8
  • Saturday, November 9
  • Sunday, November 10
  • Thursday, November 14
  • Friday, November 15
  • Saturday, November 16
  • Sunday, November 17
  • Thursday, November 21
  • Friday, November 22
  • Saturday, November 23
  • Sunday, November 24
  • Thursday, November 28
  • Friday, November 29
  • Saturday, November 30
  • Sunday, December 1
  • Thursday, December 5
  • Friday, December 6
  • Saturday, December 7
  • Sunday, December 8
  • Thursday, December 12
  • Friday, December 13
  • Saturday, December 14
  • Sunday, December 15
  • Thursday, December 19
  • Friday, December 20
  • Saturday, December 21